If you already have an account with us, please use the login panel below to access your account.

Default tacoma diesel conversion

I am interested in converting my 1998 tacoma 4x4 to a diesel motor. I was just wondering if this was at all feasable. My pickup is presently equipped with a 2.7 litre 4 cyl and a five speed manual tranny all bone stock. I also have questions about what size motor to use and what in my present pickup will bolt up(if anything). The last question I have is whether this swap could be done at home where I have basic cutting and welding capabilities, lift, and hand tools. I apreciate any feedback and oppinions as I am rather new to the toyota diesel scene.

I think it was pretty much straight forward except for the oil pan. I believe he cut the pan off of the 2.7 and welded it to the pan flange from the 3L.

Engine choice will depend on your budget as well as your plans for the truck.
    The 3L is reliable, reasonably priced, enough power (step down from the 2.7 though) and will get great mileage. I would say the 3l is the economical choice and could get by for light duty hauling.

The 1Kz-te was offered in that truck in other countries. It is more expensive (esp for 96 up models with the right oil pan and pickup for your truck) and not as efficient as L series engines, but the power and reliability is great. If you plan on towing or using the truck for much hauling I would go this route.
    Takumi Services
    Auto Prep & Fabrication
    770-364-7598

Not as efficient? That is new to me. What kind of mileage are they getting? I was under the impression the 1KZTEs were an improved design...